Following Mayo's footballers

Two changes for Dublin game

Mayo flag AIF 2013

We’ve just named our team to face the Dubs tomorrow evening. Here it is: Mayo (NFL Division One v Dublin 6/2/2016): Robbie Hennelly (Breaffy); Brendan Harrison (Aghamore), Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites), Caolan Crowe (Garrymore); Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe), Colm Boyle (Davitts), Shane Nally (Garrymore); Tom Parsons (Charlestown Sarsfields), Jason Gibbons (Ballintubber); Conor O’Shea (Breaffy), Aidan O’Shea […]

Next hurdle approaching rapidly


It’s Thursday night already and our second League match of the year is now coming at us at speed, with throw-in at MacHale Park set to take place in under 48 hours from now. It’s not, of course, the only match of interest to Mayo GAA fans this weekend so here’s a quick sweep of […]



Image: Calm down: this place hasn’t gone #GE16 crazy – and will, you’ll be glad to know, remain a political bullshit-free oasis for the next three weeks – but, seeing as voting in the hot topic of the day, let’s do a bit of it here. You know the drill by now – match […]

Prediction mini-league leaderboard – Week 1

NFL mini-league leaderboard Rd 1

The League is back up and running, which means that the prediction mini-league is as well. With a bumper field of 110 in this year’s mini-league your prediction skills are going to have to be well honed if you’re to feature regularly (or at all) on the leaderboard. I didn’t do well enough to get my name […]

Lee out for Dublin game


Photo: Irish Times (Inpho) It won’t surprise anyone to hear that Lee Keegan has now been ruled out of Saturday evening’s Division One clash with Dublin at MacHale Park (throw-in 7pm). Malachy Clerkin has a piece in today’s Irish Times (here) on the concussion incident – which, by the way, is well worth reading in […]

Conor O’Shea our MOTM from yesterday

Conor OShea

Photo: On the odd occasion that we take a proper flaking in a game – as we sure did yesterday – it does seem a bit daft to be talking about a Man of the Match award. However, the purpose of this particular exercise is to salute the players who did best for us on […]

Monday match reports

Keegan Cadogan

Photo: Inpho Right, can’t avoid those blasted match reports any longer. I have to nip into town soon, though, so it’ll be a quick sweep. Maybe that’s just as well. The best place to start, as usual, is the Mayo Advertiser where Colm Gannon has his match report (here) and post-match reaction from Stephen Rochford […]

Fr Peter Quinn RIP


Photo: Most people’s thoughts are, I know, on yesterday and what happened to us in Cork and I’ll get to all the reports on that in a bit but first it’s only right and proper to acknowledge the passing over the weekend of a Mayo great. Fr Peter Quinn, wing-back on the 1950/1 double […]

Cork 1-18 Mayo 0-12: a scorching down south


It was a measure of how badly things had gone for us today that, when the announcement made made about the five minutes of added time, a large collective groan went out around Páirc Uí Rinn. We hugely outnumbered the home support in the 4,649 official attendance but that was the only area in which […]

New season, new start

Mayo team CF 2015

Right, then – the teams have been named and it’s all systems go ahead of tomorrow’s League Division One opener against Cork down at Páirc Uí Rinn (throw-in 2pm). With my own schedule having freed up for tomorrow, the car is already full of juice and the road to the Rebel County is there to […]