Mayo GAA Blog

Mayo GAA news, views and over a century of results

Dublin find a way to win … again

There was a pivotal period in the second half of this afternoon’s less than enthralling National Football League Division One final when Dublin, shorn of several first team regulars and now reduced as well to fourteen men, looked extremely vulnerable and more than a bit rattled. The title was there to be won by Galway but they just couldn’t do […]

Mayo News football podcast – Galway win again

Another League game, a second defeat of the campaign and another episode of the Mayo News football podcast has hit the airwaves. Those events are coincidental, by the way. In this episode of the podcast host Rob Murphy starts proceedings after the event by getting post-match analysis from Mayo News regulars Sean Rice and Edwin McGreal. In the in-match segment […]

Monday match reports

Right – I’m in a major hurry this morning so I’ll make this brief. Here are the usual links to the coverage that’s out there about yesterday’s match against Galway. Locals: Mayo Advertiser, Connaught Telegraph, Galway Bay FM (match tracker). Nationals: Irish Independent (web, paper), Irish Examiner (web, paper), Irish Times, Irish Sun, Irish Mirror. Others: GAA (includes video highlights), RTÉ […]

Game day – time to stand up

We’re not yet half-way through February but today at Pearse Stadium we’re due to play our third match in this year’s National Football League campaign. Galway, already feeling right at home on their return to top tier spring football, provide the opposition and the match throws in today at 2pm, preceded by the ladies’ League clash between the same counties, […]

Two changes for Sunday

We’ve named our team for Sunday’s League clash with Galway at what’s set to be a cold, wet, windy (is it ever anything else?) and rather full Pearse Stadium (throw-in 2pm). Here’s the pick we’ve named: Mayo (NFL Division One v Galway, 11/2.2018): David Clarke (Ballina Stepenites); Brendan Harrison (Aghamore), Ger Cafferkey), Eoin O’Donoghue (Belmullet); Colm Boyle (Davitts), Stephen Coen […]