Mayo GAA Blog

Mayo GAA news, views and over a century of results

Game day: go for it

With dizzying speed, here we are again: once more it’s game day, all-or-nothing day, this time the day where we get the chance to claim a place in this year’s All-Ireland semi-finals. Although we lost our safety net in this year’s championship the evening we fell unexpectedly to Galway in the Connacht semi-final back in June, it’s only now that […]

Diarmuid back to face Tyrone

We’ve just named our team to play Tyrone. There’s one change from the team that started against Westmeath in the quarters last weekend and it’s a significant one – Diarmuid O’Connor is fit to start and he replaces Jason Doherty in the starting line-up. Here’s the team: Mayo (All-Ireland SFC quarter-final v Tyrone, 6/8/2016): David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites); Brendan Harrison (Aghamore), […]

Unchanged team for Tyrone

Photo: Tyrone GAA Tyrone have just named their team and subs for Saturday’s All-Ireland quarter-final against us at Croke Park (throw-in 4pm). Here’s their match day panel for the game: Tyrone (All-Ireland SFC quarter-final v Mayo, 6/8/2016): Niall Morgan (Éadan na dTorc); Aidan McCrory (Aireagal Chiaráin), Ronan McNamee (Achadh Uí Aráin), Cathal McCarron (An Droim Mór); Tiernan McCann (Coill an Chlochair), Justin McMahon (An Omaigh), Peter Harte […]

Our provincial champion conundrum

Saturday sees us make our sixth successive appearance in the All-Ireland Series, the latest episode in what is an unprecedented period of competitiveness for us in the championship. We’re become used to being still in with a shout for honours come August each year, even if ultimate success remains as elusive as ever for us. When we take the field […]

Some stuff on Tyrone

It’s Wednesday already and so our latest make-or-break challenge – by far the biggest one we’ve faced this year – is fast approaching. It comes in the form of Ulster champions Tyrone, three-time All-Ireland winners in the Noughties but a county against whom we’ve got a decent enough championship record. The most recent time we played them in the championship […]

Looks like Diarmuid should be good to go for Saturday

Photo: GAA The best-kept secret in the run-up to Saturday’s Round 4B match against Westmeath was the injury concern that eventually ruled Diarmuid O’Connor out of the fixture. I didn’t hear a whisper about it in advance and so the first I knew about Diarmuid’s unavailability was when the murmurings began to spread around the Cusack Stand just before the lads ran […]

Mayo News football podcast: Westmeath toppled, Tyrone await

The latest Mayo News football podcast is now available and this edition was recorded last Saturday evening. It features football-related chat recorded before, during and after our Round 4B qualifier win over Westmeath, covering both the Westmeath match itself and looking ahead to next Saturday’s All-Ireland quarter-final against Tyrone. The podcast is hosted by Rob Murphy and it features Sky Sport’s Paul […]

Get your tickets sorted today

Morning all. Another day has dawned – a nice enough one too by the looks of it – and despite yesterday’s second half drama we’re still in this year’s championship, one of only eight counties who can say that at this stage. I’ve no time, due to other commitments, to do a trawl through the match reports and all that today. […]