Mayo GAA Blog

Mayo GAA news, views and over a century of results

Oak Leafers name their team

Defending NFL champions Derry have named their team to meet us on Sunday, according to this story in Hogan Stand.  Here it is: Derry (NFL v Mayo, 1/2/2009): Shane McGuckian; Brian Og McAlary, Sean M Lockhart, Ryan Dillon; Paul Cartin, Joe O’Kane, Chrissy McKaigue; Fergal Doherty, Patsy Bradley; Enda Lynn, Barry McGoldrick, Sean Leo McGoldrick; James Kielt, Eoin Bradley, Seamus […]

Team for Derry match named

This is from Midwest’s website this morning – there’s nothing as yet up on the official Mayo GAA site or anywhere else from what I can see – so I’m not 100% sure as to whether or not it’s the real thing but here it is anyway: MAYO (v Derry, NFL, 1/2/2009): David Clarke; Liam O’Malley, Ger Cafferkey, Donal Vaughan; […]

Match-day twitterings

I could end up sounding like Old Mr Brennan extolling the virtues of Facebook here but not to worry, the Lord loves a trier and all that.  A few more tech-savvy friends of mine have been blathering on at me for some time now about Twitter so, in the spirit of constant innovation and all that, I’ve decided to give […]

Face that ball!

Okay, given the day of the week what’s in it, I think it might be appropriate to bring something TGIF-ish to your attention.  I got an email the other day from the creator (who, incidentally, is a Mayoman) of a website called, which is a GAA (and rugby) prediction league website that he’s just set up.  Basically, the site […]