Sources used: Padraig Ferguson’s Archive, Irish Press, Irish Independent, The Anglo-Celt, Western People, The Road to 51

1945/6 NFL

Cavan 0-6 Mayo 0-5 (Breffni Park, Cavan, 17/2/1946).  MAYO: T Byrne; P Gilvarry, M McNamara, S Flanagan; J Forde, J Gilvarry, F Mongey; T Langan, E Mongey; J Munnelly (Castlebar, 0-1), T Acton (0-3, frees), T Kilroy; Joe Gilvarry, J Kilroy (0-1), G McDonald.

Connacht Championship

SEMI-FINAL: Mayo 2-9 SLIGO 2-6 (Ballina, 23/6/1946). MAYO: T Byrne; F Mongey, P McNamara, S Flanagan; J Forde, John Gilvarry, J Munnelly (Ballycastle); H Kenny, P Carney (0-4); Joe Gilvarry (1-0), S Mellette (0-1), P Kilroy; J Munnelly (Castlebar), J Kilroy (1-0), J Mulvey (0-2).  [Two Mayo points unattributed]

FINAL: Mayo 0-6 Roscommon 1-4 (Duggan Park, Ballinasloe, 21/7/1946).  MAYO: T Byrne; P Gilvarry, P McNamara, S Flanagan; J Forde, John Gilvarry, F Mongey; P Carney (0-2, frees), H Kenny; Joe Gilvarry, E Mongey (0-1), P Quinn (0-1); J Munnelly (Castlebar 0-2), T Langan, J Kilroy.

Note: Roscommon’s goal proved to be a controversial one.  The goal was scored by Roscommon’s Jimmy Murray and there was some confusion as to whether or not it would be allowed as the umpires failed to signal the score.  It was only after Jimmy Murray had raised the green flag himself that the umpires finally signalled the goal. The referee, speaking after the match to the Irish Press match reporter ‘Green Flag’ (an appropriate sobriquet) stated that he had allowed the score because in his opinion the Mayo goalkeeper, Tom Byrne, was behind the line when he saved Murray’s initial goal effort.  In the week following the final, Mayo entered a formal objection with the Connacht Council, reportedly about the legality of two of the Roscommon team.  Roscommon entered a counter-objection.  At a meeting of the Connacht Council on 5/8/1946 at Castlerea, both the objection and counter-objection were withdrawn, the referee’s report was adopted and a replay ordered.  (Source: Irish Press reports July, August 1946).

FINAL (REPLAY): Roscommon 1-9 Mayo 1-2 (St. Coman’s Park, Roscommon, 11/8/1946).  MAYO: T Byrne; P Gilvarry, M McNamara, S Flanagan; J Forde, John Gilvarry, F Mongey; H Kenny, P Carney (0-1, free); P Kilroy, E Mongey, Joe Gilvarry (1-0); J Munnelly (Castlebar), J Kilroy, T Acton (0-1). Subs: T Hoban for P Kilroy, P Quinn for F Mongey,

The picture on the left, which includes players from both Mayo and Roscommon, was taken at half-time in the replayed final which took place at Roscommon on 11th August 1946.  To view a full-size copy of the picture, double-click on the thumbnail opposite.  (Thanks to ontheroad for making this copy of the picture available).

1946/7 NFL

Mayo 1-7 Sligo 1-6 (Sligo, 20/10/1946).  MAYO: T Byrne; P Gilvarry, J Kilroy, S Flanagan; J Forde, P McNamara, J Staunton; E Mongey, Joe Gilvarry; L Hastings, P Carney (0-2), S Mulderrig; J Munnelly (Castlebar, 1-2), J Munnelly (Ballycastle, 0-1), T Acton (0-2).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *