Sources used: Padraig Ferguson’s Archive, Western People, The Road to 51

Connacht Championship

FIRST ROUND: Mayo 3-12 Leitrim 0-6 (Castlerea, 10/6/1945).  Mayo scorers: J Mulvey (2-4), T Hoban (1-3), J Kilroy (0-4), E Mongey (0-1). [Team details not available]

SEMI-FINAL: Mayo 2-8 Roscommon 1-6 (Sligo, 8/7/1945).  MAYO: T Byrne; P Gilvarry, R Winters, S Flanagan; J Forde, John Gilvarry, J Munnelly (Ballycastle); H Kenny (1-0), E Mongey; JJ McGowan, J Munnelly (Castlebar, 0-1), P Kilroy (0-1); J Mulvey (1-0), J Kilroy (0-4), T Hoban (0-2, frees).

FINAL: Galway 2-6 Mayo 1-7 (Roscommon, 22/7/1945).  MAYO: T Byrne; S Flanagan, R Winters, P Gilvarry; J Forde, John Gilvarry, J Munnelly (Ballycastle); H Kenny, E Mongey (1-0); JJ McGowan (0-1), J Munnelly (Castlebar), P Kilroy (0-3, two frees); J Mulvey, J Kilroy (0-1), T Hoban (0-1, free).  Sub: T Langan for Hoban. [One other Mayo point unattributed].

1945/6 NFL

Following its suspension during WWII, the NFL resumed  for the 1945/6 season.

Mayo 1-3 Roscommon 0-5 (Ballina, 18/11/1945).  MAYO: T Byrne; P Gilvarry, P McNamara, S Flanagan; J Forde, John Gilvarry, “F Browne”; E Mongey, T Langan; J Munnelly (Castlebar, 0-1), T Acton (0-1), Joe Gilvarry (0-1); J Mulvey, J Kilroy, G McDonald (1-0).  Sub: S Mellotte for Mulvey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *